EMBED Awards 2013: Learning through technology

As in previous years, the eLearning Awards will be held during Embed. These awards focus on the use of technology for learning where judges will look into what benefits the use of technology has brought about for learning.

It is a chance to showcase the work teachers and students are producing, thus celebrating the achievement of students in their learning and how technology can enhance the quality of teaching in schools.

Educators who, this scholastic year, are using ICT in their educational context are invited to submit entries for the eLearning EMBED awards. These awards are open to educators based in the Maltese primary or secondary sector.

Click here to fill the Submission Form (deadline extended to 31st May). June 2013, submissions will be shortlisted and judged.

These will be the categories for this year:


Smart New Teacher of the Year

Open to all qualified teachers in their 1st, 2nd or 3rd year of teaching

Leader of the Year

Open to all Heads of School, Assistant Heads and Heads of Department.

Smart Learning Early Years

Open to all teachers from K1 – Year 3

Smart Learning Primary

Open to all qualified teachers from Year 4 – Year 6

Smart Learning Secondary

Open to all qualified teachers in secondary schools

Smart Learning Support

Open to all types of teaching assistants, including complimentary and other classroom support staff (peripatetic).

Collaborative Award

This is open to any group of local educators who have collaborated towards a common goal.

Outstanding Educator Award

EMBED winners of the previous two years are to submit their entry in this category.

Fronter Special Award

All submissions which incorporate the use of the iLearn platform will be automatically eligible for this award.